How I Make Ginger Oil

A few days ago I posted this picture on my instagram page @ninibodytreats.

It’s wet ginger pulp in case you are wondering and in spite of all the things it could have ended up being, my only intention was to turn it into aromatic oil for use in bath and body products. 

To make the oil, I thoroughly dry out the pulp before maceration. 

If I’m in a hurry, I use a small crocpot to gently steep the dried herb in oil (either a single oil or combination) on very low heat for over 6 hours. If I have time on my side, I steep the herb in oil in a glass jar for 6 weeks, shaking the bottle at least once a day.

The result is the most fragrant natural oil that can be used directly (depending on the ratio of herb to oil) or mixed with Shea or cocoabutter for a warming body butter. I also use it in lip balm. 

Hope this has been useful. I would like to hear about your herbal oil creations.

2 thoughts on “How I Make Ginger Oil

  1. how did u dry all that ginger… u kept us guessing for long.. so annoying, the answer was right there in the options u gave 🙂

Leave a Reply

